nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
I Need To Update The Address On The License

Address Change:
A license holder is required by law to notify the BCI within 30 days of a change in address. Send a letter, via regular mail, to the BCI, in which you provide your full legal name, date of birth, old address, new address, and the effective date of the new address.

If you would like to have your existing license reissued with the new address, you must include the license with the address notification letter. You are not required to have your license reissued – as long as you have notified BCI of your new address, your license remains valid and in full effect until the license expiration date. There is no charge for the reissued license. It takes about 2 – 3 weeks for the license to be reissued.

Send the change of address letter (and your license, if you want it reissued) to:

BCI CWL Section
PO Box 1054
Bismarck, ND 58502

Write “ADDRESS CHANGE” on the front of the envelope.

For security reasons, the BCI is not able to accept a CHANGE OF ADDRESS notification via email or telephone. Sorry, due to the volume of mail we receive, we cannot acknowledge receipt of these notification letters.

If you have moved out of North Dakota, the status of your ND concealed weapon license may be affected. See #4 on Eligibility and check with the state in which you now reside.

Active Duty military eligibility

The BCI does not issue a new license with the updated address unless you enclose your existing license with the change of address notification letter.