nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Concealed Weapons Licenses New Requirements

  • The license renewal period begins 180 days prior to the license expiration date and continues until the date of expiration. An expired license cannot be renewed. [This provision supersedes all previous provisions regarding renewal].
  • Applications from ND residents may not be submitted to the BCI by the applicant. Applicants within city limits must deliver the application to the Chief of Police. The Chief of Police shall forward the applications to the Sheriff. Residents outside city limits deliver applications directly to the Sheriff. The Sheriff shall forward all applications to the BCI. An applicant may not deliver or mail the application form directly to BCI.
  • The completed application form and attachments must be delivered to law enforcement within 30 days of the testing date. Applications delivered to law enforcement more than 30 days after testing are untimely and will be denied by BCI as invalid.
  • Two color passport photos are required with the application form. The BCI will accept only actual passport photographs, no photocopies or computer generated copies. BE SURE TO PRINT YOUR NAME ON THE BACK OF YOUR PHOTOGRAPHS.