nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
What Are The Testing Requirements/Fees

ALL initial applicants must pass a written (open book) test based on the information in the Concealed Weapon License Manual, covering weapons, concealed weapons and deadly force laws, as well the responsible handling of firearms. In addition, an applicant for a Class 1 license must (1) complete classroom instruction, and (2) demonstrate familiarity with the weapon, and (3) successfully complete a firearms proficiency (shooting) test.

All classroom instruction and testing must be completed within the State of North Dakota and cannot be held in conjunction with instruction or testing for any other state. The testing requirements cannot be waived for any applicant.

A test administrator may charge a maximum of $50.00 (plus separate range fees, if applicable), which fee includes a complete copy of the current Concealed Weapon License Manual (July 2013) for the applicant to keep.

The application must be submitted to the BCI within 30 days of the testing date. Applications submitted more than 30 days after testing are invalid and will not be processed.

RENEWAL: No additional testing is required to renew a valid Class 2 license. To renew a Class 1 license, the applicant must repeat the concealed weapon license testing.