nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Concealed Weapons Licenses

MN Residents

The Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) processes applications for concealed weapon licenses and issues the licenses. The BCI is prohibited from providing information about the status of an application for a concealed weapon license, even to the applicant.

Renewal applicants: Federal fingerprint standards have changed and some older fingerprint cards are being rejected because they no longer meet the new federal standards. If your fingerprints were rejected, you will receive a notice to obtain and submit new fingerprints so that we can process your renewal. The 60-day processing time will start when we receive your new fingerprints. To obtain new fingerprints, please contact local law enforcement or a test administrator.

How may we help you?

General Information:

ATTENTION: Effective 8-1-2013 ND concealed weapon licenses issued to residents of non-reciprocal states are invalid.

APPLICATION PROCESSING: It takes up to 60 days to process a properly completed application that has all attachments. If the application is not complete, it will be returned.

If applicant satisfies the criteria established by law, the license will be issued within 60 days; if not, the applicant will receive a denial letter.

Retired Law Enforcement & Retired Military Law Enforcement Concealed Carry

As of December 31, 2015, there are 5,224 active Class 1 licenses and 35,648 active Class 2 licenses, for a total of 40,872 active North Dakota concealed weapons licenses.

Questions? E-mail us at ndag@nd.gov