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For more information see the Concealed Weapon License page at www.ag.nd.gov.                           BCI-CWL, PO Box 1054, Bismarck, ND 58502-1054 

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA THIS APPLICATION FORM CONSISTS OF 1 PAGE OF 
INSTRUCTIONS AND A 2–PAGE FORM  

OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL 

INSTRUCTIONS: APPLYING FOR A CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE 
The Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) is prohibited by law from providing information about the status of an application, even to the 
applicant. PLEASE DO NOT CALL WITH THESE INQUIRIES. Information on application processing times, test administrators, completing 
the form, Class 1 and Class 2 testing requirements, and more is available on the Concealed Weapon License page at www.ag.nd.gov. 
To avoid delays processing your application, DOUBLE-CHECK THE FORM & ATTACHMENTS BEFORE SUBMITTING TO THE BCI. 

AGE: Applicant must be at least age 21 to apply for a Class 1 
license, or at least age 18 to apply for a Class 2 license.  

RESIDENCY: Residency is determined by your driver’s license 
or state-issued identification card. Applicant must be (a) a 
resident of North Dakota OR (b) a resident of a state that 
recognizes non-resident ND licenses OR (c) active duty 
military stationed in ND. Reciprocity information is on the 
Concealed Weapon License page at www.ag.nd.gov.  

APPLICATIONS: Complete application online at 
www.ag.nd.gov. Applications must be properly completed, 
signed and dated, with all required documentation. You must 
disclose ALL convictions, EVEN if the charges were later 
dismissed (i.e. deferred imposition). Incomplete/unsigned 
applications will be returned. Applications submitted to the BCI 
must be postmarked within 30 days of testing. List your 
permanent residence address (not PO Box) and mailing 
address (if different).  

APPLICATION FEE: A non-refundable application processing 
fee of $60.00 payable to ND Attorney General must be 
included with the application.  

PAYMENT OPTIONS: Certified check or money order only. 
No cash/personal checks. No joint payments. Applicant’s name 
must appear or be written on the certified check/money order.  

CONCEALED WEAPONS LICENSE TESTING: ALL new 
applicants must complete the open-book test. In addition, 
applicants for a Class 1 license must (1) attend classroom 
instruction, (2) demonstrate familiarity with the firearm, AND 
(3) successfully complete the proficiency (shooting) test. All 
classroom instruction and testing must be completed within the 
State of North Dakota and cannot be held in conjunction with 
instruction or testing for any other state. No additional testing is 
required of currently licensed ND law enforcement officers. 
The testing cannot be waived for any other applicant. 

TESTING FEES: A test administrator can charge a maximum 
of $50.00 (plus applicable range fees). The test administrator 
must provide to each applicant, at no additional charge, a 
complete copy of the current Concealed Weapon License 
Manual (July 2015) for the applicant to keep. 

RENEWAL: No additional testing is required to renew a valid 
Class 2 license. In order to renew a Class 1 license, applicant 
must repeat ALL required testing (see above). An expired 
license is not valid and cannot be renewed; applicant must 
start over as a new applicant (including all required testing).  

INVALID APPLICATIONS: Invalid applications cannot be 
processed. An application is invalid if it is (a) submitted more 
than 30 days after completion of required testing, (b) a renewal 
submitted outside the renewal period or after the expiration of 
an existing license, or (c) an outdated application (issue date 
prior to 07/2015). Applicant will be required to restart the 
application process, including all testing. 

PHOTOS: Applicant must remove sunglasses, prescription 
eyewear, hats, and other headgear. No uniforms. Passport 
quality photos only. Print name on back of photos. 

WHAT MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION: 
 ALL APPLICANTS: Attach (1) Two passport quality 

photos; (2) a copy of your state-issued driver’s 
license; and (3) the non-refundable application 
processing fee.  

 NEW Applicants AND if UPGRADING to Class 1: 
You also must submit two fingerprint cards. Contact 
law enforcement or a test administrator. Fingerprints 
are not required for renewal of same Class license.  

 NON-ND RESIDENT Applicants from Reciprocal 
states: You must attach a copy of a valid concealed 
carry license from your home state. If you do not 
have one, or your state is not reciprocal with ND, you 
are not eligible for a ND concealed weapon license.  

 Active Duty Military only: Attach a copy of your PCS 
orders to ND. You are not required to have a 
concealed carry permit in your home state.  

 Any applicant born outside the United States: You 
must be a legal resident of the US. If you were born 
outside the United States or its territories, attach a 
copy of your: US-issued Born Abroad birth certificate, 
or Alien Registration/INS Registration documentation, 
or Naturalization certificate, or valid US Passport.  

 ALL Class 1 applicants AND any applicant 
answering yes to Q13: You MUST also sign and 
date the authorization form (bottom portion of page 2) 

APPLICATION PROCESSING: Applications must be 
submitted by MAIL. Place each application in a separate 
envelope (no joint or bulk submissions). The application review 
process takes up to 60 days from the date the BCI receives a 
satisfactorily completed application with all attachments. If 
applicant satisfies the criteria established by law, the license is 
issued & mailed; if not, applicant receives a denial letter.

http://www.ag.nd.gov/
http://www.ag.nd.gov/
http://www.ag.nd.gov/
http://www.ag.nd.gov/




SFN 9756 (07/2015)  

MAIL TO BCI-CWL, PO Box 1054, Bismarck, ND 58502-1054                                                                       (Page 1 of 2) 

 
APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE       
OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL BUREAU OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION 
SFN 9756 (07/2015) PREVIOUS VERSIONS ARE INVALID – DO NOT USE      
 
I am applying for: I currently have a ND CWL:  FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY 

 Class 1   Class 2  Yes   No  ND COURT  NO / YES RECEIPT 

ND CWL Number     Expiration :  CWIS NO / YES DATE CHECKED 

PCN (IF APPLICABLE)   ND RECORD NO / YES CWPTN 

Mail application & attachments to:   PRO NO / YES NICS 

BCI-CWL, PO BOX 1054   NCIC NO / YES LICENSE  

BISMARCK, ND 58502-1054  III HIT              NO / YES PROCESSED BY:  

Completed applications MUST BE mailed.  PRINTS NO / YES REVIEWED  BY: 

Your application can be processed ONLY if it is properly completed, signed, dated and has all required attachments: (i) 2-passport quality 
photographs; (ii) a copy of your current driver’s license; (iii) a copy of valid concealed carry license from reciprocal home state (non-ND residents 
only); (iv) PCS orders (active duty military only); (v) 2-fingerprint cards (new applicants AND if upgrading from Class 2 to Class 1); (vi) documentation 
of status (applicants born abroad); and (vii) a cashier’s check/money order (no personal checks) for $60.00 payable to ND Attorney General. Every 
application must be mailed in a separate envelope with a separate fee. MAKE SURE YOU SIGN & DATE THE APPLICATION.  

PRIVACY ACT NOTIFICATION: Your Social Security number is requested to permit the ND BCI to conduct a background investigation pursuant to N.D.C.C § 62.1-04-03 
before the issuance of a license to carry a concealed weapon. Disclosure of your SSN is voluntary. However, not providing your SSN will result in delays or denial due to 
misidentification, or criminal records check requirements of other state, local, or federal agencies. 

TO BE COMPLETED BY TEST ADMINISTRATOR:  Please remind applicants to sign in both places, and to submit the application within 30 days of the testing date.  
TEST ADMINISTRATOR NAME (PRINT CLEARLY) POST BOARD / TEST ADMINISTRATOR NUMBER TESTING DATE LOCATION OF TESTING SITE 

WRITTEN TEST: 
 
PROFICIENCY TEST:   
 

PASS / FAIL 
 
PASS / FAIL 
 NOT APPLICABLE 

 

____________________________________ 

DATE 

 

 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF TEST ADMINISTRATOR (must be an original signature – NO stamps) 

 
APPLICANT INFORMATION 

If we cannot read it, we will return it. PLEASE write legibly in BLOCK letters.  
I AM A US CITIZEN:  
YES  /  NO  

If NO, provide Alien /INS Registration #  

NAME   (LAST)                    (FIRST)                        (MIDDLE) SUFFIX MAIDEN/PRIOR/OTHER NAMES NICKNAME/ALIAS 

DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY AND STATE/COUNTRY) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  

(SSN) 

DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER 

SEX RACE HEIGHT WEIGHT EYE COLOR HAIR COLOR DRIVER’S LICENSE/ID NO.       EXPIRATION DATE       STATE 

RESIDENCE STREET ADDRESS (NOT PO BOX)  CITY    COUNTY STATE   ZIP CODE 

MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM STREET ADDRESS)  CITY    COUNTY STATE   ZIP CODE 

PRIOR ADDRESS(ES) FOR THE PAST FIVE YEARS. ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEET IF MORE THAN TWO PRIOR ADDRESSES  

STREET AND NUMBER UNIT NUMBER CITY STATE/ZIP 

    

    

NEW APPLICANTS: CIRCLE ALL STATES IN WHICH YOU HAVE LIVED AS AN ADULT (18 

YRS. OR OLDER). RENEWAL APPLICANTS: CIRCLE ALL STATES FROM THE PAST FIVE 

YEARS. WRITE FOREIGN COUNTRY(IES) AND TERRITORY(IES) below: 

[__________________________________________________________________________] 

 AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE DC FL GA HI 

 ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS 

 MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR 

 PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY 

PRESENT EMPLOYER EMPLOYER'S ADDRESS                          CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

PRESENT EMPLOYER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER YOUR CURRENT OCCUPATION/JOB TITLE RETIRED  

UNEMPLOYED 
 
 
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ALL APPLICANTS: ANSWER EVERY QUESTION BELOW. If you answer YES, provide additional information on the form OR attach a separate page 
explaining your answer (write your name on the top). Disclose ALL information requested. FAILURE TO DISCLOSE INFORMATION IS A “MATERIAL 
MISSTATEMENT” AND WILL RESULT IN DENIAL OF YOUR APPLICATION.  
1. Have you ever RENOUNCED your United States citizenship, or are you an 

alien illegally in the US? 
NO YES  EXPLAIN 

2. Are you currently under indictment, charged with a crime or awaiting 
sentencing for a crime in any court? 

NO YES EXPLAIN, WHERE? 

3. Are you a FUGITIVE FROM JUSTICE? NO YES EXPLAIN, WHERE? 

4. Is there CURRENTLY a PROTECTION/RESTRAINING ORDER against 
you? 

NO YES EXPLAIN, WHERE? EXPIRATION? 

5. Have you ever been discharged from the Armed Forces under 
DISHONORABLE conditions? 

NO YES EXPLAIN & attach copy of your discharge documents 

6. Have you ever had your RIGHT TO POSSESS/CARRY A FIREARM 
RESTORED? 

NO YES EXPLAIN, WHERE? WHEN? 

7. Has the FBI NICS Section issued you a VOLUNTARY APPEAL FILE UPIN 
NUMBER? 

NO YES EXPLAIN, ATTACH COPY OF DOCUMENTATION 

8. At ANY TIME IN YOUR LIFE, have you been convicted of a FELONY or 
ANY OTHER CRIMINAL OFFENSE including any crime involving 
VIOLENCE?  (NOTE: this also INCLUDES ANY criminal offense for which 
you received a DEFERRED SENTENCE EVEN IF IT WAS LATER 
DISMISSED.) 

NO YES EXPLAIN 

9. AS AN ADULT, have you ever been convicted of a crime involving 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, EVEN IF THE CHARGES WERE LATER 
REDUCED? 

NO YES EXPLAIN 

10. In the last 10 YEARS, have you been convicted of any offense involving 
the use of alcohol, EVEN if the charges were reduced? (DUI, open 
container, public intoxication, MIP/MIC, etc.) 

NO YES EXPLAIN 

11. Are you an UNLAWFUL USER OF, OR ADDICTED TO marijuana or any 
depressant, stimulant, narcotic or drug, or any other controlled substance? 

NO YES EXPLAIN 

12. In the last 10 YEARS, have you been convicted of an offense involving 
marijuana, any depressant, stimulant, narcotic or drug or other controlled 
substance (including paraphernalia), EVEN IF THE CHARGES WERE 
LATER DEFERRED OR DISMISSED? 

NO YES EXPLAIN 

13. Have you EVER been ADJUDICATED MENTALLY INCOMPETENT (which 
includes a determination by a court, board, commission or other lawful 
authority that you are a danger to yourself or others or are incompetent to 
manage your own affairs) OR BEEN COMMITTED TO A TREATMENT 
FACILITY AS A PERSON REQUIRING TREATMENT? 

NO YES EXPLAIN, FACILITY NAME, CITY and STATE: 

 ALL APPLICANTS: sign & date this section or your application will be returned.  DATE: 

I authorize the BCI to make inquiry into my military, police, or medical history, and to obtain 
copies of records if necessary for determining eligibility for a Concealed Weapons License. I 
certify that the answers given above are true and correct. I understand that making any false or 
misleading answer will result in denial of my application and may result in criminal prosecution. 

 

_______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

 ALL APPLICANTS – COMPLETE, SIGN & DATE THE AUTHORIZATION BELOW. If this authorization is not completed, the application will be returned.  

AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE MENTAL HEALTH/SUBSTANCE ABUSE TREATMENT INFORMATION.  DATE 
I specifically authorize the ND State Hospital & ________________________________ to release to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation 
                                                                                                                             LEAVE BLANK OR PRINT THE NAME OF THE TREATMENT FACILITY  

(BCI) any mental health and drug/alcohol treatment records, including any evaluations and expert examination reports, social 
history/admission/ discharge summary, mental health and psychiatric records, for BCI to determine eligibility for a Concealed Weapons 
License. I SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZE THE RELEASE OF MENTAL HEALTH AND DRUG/ ALCOHOL TREATMENT RECORDS. I 
understand this authorization is voluntary, and my healthcare providers and health care plan cannot condition treatment, payment, 
enrollment or eligibility for benefits on whether I sign this authorization. This authorization remains in effect for five years from the date 
hereof unless specifically revoked by written notice to BCI or the treatment providers identified above. (Refer to your treatment provider’s 
notice of privacy practices for further information on your revocation rights.)  Information disclosed pursuant to this authorization is no 
longer protected by HIPAA and may be re-disclosed by BCI in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 62.1-04-03(9) and as allowed or required by 
federal law. Information may be disclosed to BCI in any form, including orally or electronically. 

_________________________________________ 

APPLICANT NAME (PRINT CLEARLY) 

 

_________/________/___________ 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

______/_______/_________ 

DATE OF BIRTH 

__________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
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