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Even the most dependable car manufacturers sometimes produce what’s commonly called 
a “lemon” ~ a car that frequently breaks down and seems to defy repair.

USED VEHICLES

North Dakota’s “lemon law” (North Dakota 
Century Code Sections 51-07-16 through 51-07-
22) applies only to new cars. It does not apply to 
motorcycles, motor homes, OR used cars. 

•	 There is no “right to cancel” a vehicle 
purchase, although many dealers offer 
a voluntary limited time satisfaction 
guarantee. 

•	 When you buy a used car, you purchase 
it “as is.” You have little protection 
against defects that surface after you 
buy the vehicle, unless you purchased an 
extended warranty or you can prove the 
seller lied about the condition of the car. 

LEASED CARS

If you leased a car that has been determined to 
be a lemon, you are entitled to receive a refund 
of all lease payments, cash payments, and 
security deposits, less a reasonable deduction 
for use of the vehicle. Your lease agreement will 
be cancelled when you return the car, and you 
cannot be charged a penalty for early termination.

A car may be resold or leased again even though 
it is a lemon, as long as the manufacturer provides 
a warranty for 12 months or 12,000 miles from 
the date of resale and provides a statement to 
the buyer that the car had been returned to the 
manufacturer as a lemon.

NEW CARS

Before your new car is declared a lemon, the 
problem must be determined to be one that 
“substantially impairs the use and market value 
of the passenger motor vehicle,” and the dealer 
must be given a “reasonable number of attempts” 
to fix it.

The problem must be reported to the dealer or 
manufacturer within one year of the purchase or 
during the term of the warranty, whichever is less. 
A “reasonable number” is more than three tries, 
or a cumulative total of 30 business days in which 
the vehicle is out of service during the term of the 
warranty or within a year of purchase. 

The car owner is required first to attempt to settle 
the dispute through the manufacturer’s arbitration 
procedures. The manufacturers have third-party 
arbitration systems set up to work out non-binding 
settlements. If you are a North Dakota resident, 
the arbitration hearing must be held in this state.  

Many auto manufacturers have their own dispute 
settlement boards. Check your owner’s manual 
for specific information.

If you are not satisfied with the outcome of the 
arbitration hearing, you may hire a private attorney 
and sue the manufacturer for a new car or a 
refund. A judge will decide who is correct and, if 
you win, how much you will receive. The law gives 
you little time to sue, however, so don’t delay.

A list of attorneys licensed in North Dakota is 
available from the Supreme Court’s website at 
ndcourts.gov. 
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