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North Dakota’s laws restricting sales of over-the-counter cold and allergy medicines containing pseudoephedrine and 
ephedrine took effect in 2003. In 2006, the President signed the Combat Meth Act, which imposed additional restrictions on 
both retailers and consumers. The 2007 Legislature amended North Dakota’s laws to more closely mirror federal laws, effective 
immediately. To assist retailers, the Office of Attorney General has prepared the following summary of state and federal laws.  
  

RETAIL RESTRICTIONS ON THE SALE/PURCHASE OF CERTAIN NON-PRESCRIPTION COLD/ALLERGY MEDICINES 

Restricted Products Retail sales of all non-prescription products containing pseudoephedrine (PSE) and ephedrine (EPH) are restricted – 
including liquid and pediatric products. Prescription medications are not subject to these reporting requirements.   

Product Placement Retailers must keep restricted products behind the counter or in a locked cabinet. Product may not be displayed on shelves.  

Sales Limits No more than 2 packages of restricted products can be sold in a single sale; a package cannot contain more than 2 grams 
of EPH or PSE product.  Regardless of the number of packages sold, the purchaser cannot exceed the daily limit (below).  

Purchase Limits 
 

DAILY SALES LIMIT – a purchaser may not buy more than 3.6 grams of restricted product per day;
1
AND 

MONTHLY SALES LIMIT – a purchaser cannot by more than 9.0 grams of restricted product per calendar month.
2
 

ID Requirements Purchaser must be over 18. A government issued photo identification card is required.  

Logbook and 
Record Keeping 
Requirements 
 

• Retailers must keep a written or electronic log of each separate sales transaction. The log must contain a warning to 
consumers about the penalties for using false, forged, or altered identification. 

• The PURCHASER must complete name, address, date and time of sale, and sign the log. The RETAILER must enter 
the name and quantity of the product sold, verify the purchaser’s information corresponds to the ID card shown, and 
ensure the date and time of sale is accurate. The purchaser’s phone number is not required.  

• The log must be kept confidential (i.e., a purchaser’s log entry must not be visible at any time to another purchaser) and 
can be released only to law enforcement officers. Records must be kept for three years.  

• Although federal law requires the written log to be in a bound book, use of an alternate form created to comply with state 
law is permitted provided it contains all information required by USDEA (such as the form created by this office). 

Warning to 
Purchaser 

The log must contain the following written warning or, if not feasible (i.e. the seller is using a bound book or electronic 
log), the warning must be prominently displayed where the purchaser will see it when providing the information:  
• Warning: Section 1001 of Title 18, United States Code, states that whoever, with respect to the logbook, knowingly and 

willfully falsifies, conceals, or covers up by any trick, scheme, or device a material fact, or makes any materially false, 
fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation, or makes or uses any false writing or document knowing the same to 
contain any materially false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry, shall be fined not more than $250,000 if an 
individual or $500,000 if an organization, imprisoned not more than five years, or both.  

                                            
1
 US DEA defines a “day” as the period from midnight to midnight.  

2
 US DEA interprets this to mean a rolling calendar where the sales limit is based on sales to the purchaser in the previous 30 days. 
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RETAILER INFORMATION (additional requirements of federal law are highlighted)  

Product 
Restrictions 

Non-liquid dosage forms (including gel caps) of the restricted products must be in blister packaging or unit dose packaging. 
Restricted products are now classified in a new category under the federal Controlled Substances Act as “scheduled listed 
chemical products.” 

Training 
Requirements 

Federal: Employers must certify with DEA that all employees have been trained. An approved training and self-certification 
program has been developed by the DEA, accessed online at: http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/meth/index.html.  
 
State: At the time of initial employment and each year thereafter, retailers and employees shall participate in a training 
program approved by the Attorney General which provides information regarding state and federal regulations governing the 
sale, possession, and packaging of restricted products. Retailers who have completed the US DEA self-certification program 
required under federal law are deemed to have participated in an approved training program for purposes of compliance with 
state law. 

Penalties A person who knowingly exceeds the single sales limit of 2 grams of restricted product or sells a non-liquid product that is not 
in a blister package or unit dose package Is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor, for which the penalty is one year’s 
imprisonment or a fine of $2,000, or both.  
 
A person who exceeds the single sales limit of two packages, fails to require purchaser to show an ID; does not follow the 
logbook and recordkeeping requirements; does not comply with the requirement to keep the product behind the counter or 
display only one package of product or maintain continuous video surveillance; Is guilty (for a first offense) of an 
Infraction, for which the penalty is a fine of $500; a second offense within one year shall be treated as a Class B 
Misdemeanor, for which the penalty is thirty days imprisonment, a fine of $1,000, or both.  
 
Additional penalties under FEDERAL law: Civil penalty of up to $25,000; and for a first offense - imprisonment of up to 
one year in addition to a fine; for subsequent offenses – imprisonment of up to two years in addition to a fine; retailer is 
prohibited from selling any “scheduled listed chemical products.” 

Retailer Defenses It is an affirmative defense if a person obtained proof of age from the purchaser, and the purchaser appeared to be at least 
eighteen, even if purchaser used a false, forged, or altered document. A person who is an owner, operator, manager of the 
retail outlet, or supervisor of the employee is not subject to criminal penalties if the person did not have knowledge of, 
participate in, or direct the employee to commit the violation, AND can document full compliance with the training 
requirements.  

Other Provisions 
(federal)  

A retailer must take measures to guard against employee theft or diversion of restricted product, including asking applicants 
if they have ever been convicted of a crime involving or related to restricted product or other controlled substances.  

 


