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NEW SCRAP METAL REGULATIONS  
 

BISMARCK, ND – Starting tomorrow, sales of scrap metal in North Dakota will be 
regulated. The new laws provides law enforcement with additional tools to investigate 
reports of stolen industrial, construction and building materials, such as metal pipe and 
copper wire, and provides protections for scrap metal dealers.  

“As the price of certain metals has surged, we have seen a dramatic increase in both 
the number of thefts and the value of the stolen items. Thieves are now targeting 
industrial and commercial sites, stealing hundreds, sometimes thousands, of pounds of 
materials to sell as scrap metal,” said Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem.  

The regulations come on the heels of a string of thefts involving thousands of pounds of 
metal, including multiple thefts in Fargo and Grand Forks, a theft in February of $40,000 
worth of copper wire in Williston, and theft of 26,000 pounds of copper worth over 
$100,000 stolen from businesses in the Fargo area earlier this month. Three individuals 
have been arrested in connection with the Fargo thefts.  

Due to the prevalence of scrap metal thefts in North Dakota, the Attorney General 
recommended the new legislature to the current session of the legislature, which 
responded quickly, adding an emergency clause to the bill so it would take effect on 
May 1, rather than August 1 when most new laws take effect.  

Beginning May 1, 2013, scrap metal dealers will be required to keep a record of any 
transaction involving more than $25 of scrap metal, including a copy of the seller’s 
government issued photo identification card, and details of the type and amount of 
scrap metal involved and payment information. For transactions involving more than 
$1,000 worth of scrap metal, a dealer cannot make cash payments. The dealer’s 
premises, inventory and transaction records are open to inspection by law enforcement.  

North Dakota is the forty-ninth state to impose regulations on scrap metal transactions.  

The new regulations do not apply to wrecked cars, beer kegs, or food and beverage 
containers. Failure to comply with the law is a criminal offense. 

Additional information about the new requirements is available from the Attorney 
General’s website at www.ag.nd.gov.  
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