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NEW CONCEALED WEAPON LAWS 

TAKE EFFECT AUGUST 1, 2013 

 

BISMARCK, ND – The Legislature passed several bills that change the weapons and 
concealed weapons laws and as a result, beginning tomorrow, August 1, 2013, 
applicants for North Dakota’s concealed weapons licenses will notice several new 
procedures, announced Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem.  

The application process has been streamlined and applications now will be mailed 
directly to the BCI instead of being submitted to the local law enforcement agencies. 
Other changes include:  

• The application form has been shortened and can be downloaded and completed 
from the concealed weapons license page of the Attorney General’s website 
(www.ag.nd.gov).   

• Additional fingerprint-based federal record and NICs checks will be conducted on 
all new and renewing applicants. The extra fees charged by the FBI for the 
federal record checks are included in the application processing fee, which 
increases from $45 to $60.  

• Non-ND residents must have a valid concealed weapon license from their home 
state, which state must have reciprocity with North Dakota. The home state is 
determined by the driver’s license.  

• For a Class 1 license, the “look back” disqualifying time period for alcohol-related 
offenses is now limited to 10 years.  

• Defense sprays and stun guns (but not Tasers) can be carried concealed without 
a concealed weapon license.  
 

“The new comprehensive federal criminal record and mental health record check 
requirements have helped us keep reciprocity for Class 1 license holders with thirty-six 
states. The streamlined application process will be faster and easier for all applicants,” 
said Stenehjem.  

New and renewal applications started after today must be submitted using the new form 
and procedures and the new $60 fee. The BCI will process current application forms 
that are delivered to local law enforcement today. The green forms are invalid beginning 
August 1. Applications not delivered to law enforcement today fall under the new laws, 
requiring the new form and processing fee. Applicants who completed testing in July will 
need to download and complete a new application form and mail both the new form and 
the old form (with the testing information) to the BCI, along with the $60 fee.  

There are currently 27,219 North Dakota concealed weapons license holders. 

Detailed information about the law changes, the new online application process, and a 
list of certified test administrators, is available online from the Attorney General’s 
website, at http://www.ag.nd.gov/BCI/CW/CW.htm.  

# # # 


